When They’re Gone

February 22, 2011

Day 19. When They’re Gone.

I’ve decided to place Day 18 on hold. We’ll get back to that one.

When They’re Gone. Shhhh. Do you hear that? Of course not. Because it’s completely silent! Whoo-hoo! Having young kids automatically allows you to appreciate that old saying, “Silence is Golden.” Yes, it is.

But for me, the kiddos aren’t really gone (or I’m not really away for that long,) but I’m guessing it’s very similar to when they are down for the night.

When they’re down for the night, I can do anything I want that doesn’t require Buzz and Woody or Chicken Nuggets. I can watch any TV program I want, (or not!) I can eat my dinner in peace and I can walk around in my underwear. That is, if I wanted to.

For me, nothing screams Calgon (well, beside a bath) like lit candles. The warm flickering glow in contrast with the dimmed lights immediately puts me at ease. I can close my eyes and reflect on my busy, crazy day and appreciate how blessed I am.

Which probably explains why I have about a million candles.

One Response to “When They’re Gone”


Leave a Reply

