I Heart Valentine’s Day (still!)

February 3, 2011

Okay, so I learned from last year not to wait until the last minute, which for some reason doesn’t seem to work around the holiday season. Anyhow, I’m proud to say that I’m actually finished with my, I mean, my son’s Valentine’s Day cards. Whoo-hoo!

Very similar to last year’s design, I wanted to integrate the lollipop in the card, rather than just attaching it.

Here’s what I did:

1. Took a photo of my son making a fist. This took a little longer than usual, since he was full of a variety faces and poses. Plus, sometimes he would put his fist smack in the middle of his face, which wouldn’t work since he was covering most of his face. I guess he was a bit sassy that day. I also snatched a lollipop from the candy stash before my son could get to it.

2. Printed the photo and glued it to a piece of cardstock for stability.

3. Cut two small slits on both sides of his fist with an X-Acto knife.

4. Carefully inserted the lollipop into the card.

5. Stepped back and let out a sigh of relief. I’m actually early for a holiday. The planets must be aligned.

Here’s a side-by-side of my son’s card this year and his card from last year.

Now it’s your turn. Go try it and tell me how you did! Now go!

16 Responses to “I Heart Valentine’s Day (still!)”


  1. supercute!. well done.
    happy valentine’s day to YOU!

  2. Desiree Fawn Says:

    These are so neat!!

  3. Rhonda Says:

    These are so cute! Can you tell me what software you used for the picture? I love the border and the heart!
    Thanks rhonda

  4. Christen Says:

    So very cute, this would take me years with my kids…and I don’t think I could ever get them to look straight into the camera…AHHH!


  5. that is so super cute! love it!! xoxo


  6. […] Lollipop Valentines. I loved These!  Make a photo of your child and a lollipop into a unique Valentine. […]


  7. […] Super simple to make but a really awesome card to give to schoolmates or teachers! […]


  8. […] Photo Valentine’s Day Card idea from Jen at the SmileReport.com is so clever and perfect for us […]

  9. Jacqui Says:

    Thanks so much for a wonderful idea! My daughter loved it and I’ve just finished making up a few for her classmates for tomorrow.


  10. […] Valentine’s Day Cards. I love the look of these – how fun.  But seriously — looks like alot more work for mom!  […]


  11. Love the card super cute!


Leave a comment